Learn how to make gluten free tempura dipping sauce. It’s quick and easy.
Tentsuyu is the traditional Japanese dipping sauce that accompanies any kind of tempura. With only 4 ingredients: dashi, sugar, soy sauce, and mirin, this tempura dipping sauce can be put together in a matter of minutes. You can premake tentsuyu ahead of time and keep it in the refrigerator for whenever you serve tempura.
Since I have gluten allergy, I’m showing you how to make a gluten-free tempura dipping sauce. However, if you don’t have gluten allergy, just use regular soy sauce instead of gluten-free soy sauce. The ratio stays the same.
Ingredients
- 3 tbsp of gluten-free soy sauce (or regular soy sauce)
- 1 cup of dashi
- 2 tsp of sugar
- 2 tbsp of mirin
Dashi is Japanese soup stock. If you want to prepare dashi from scratch at home, check out my recipe video here.
For convenience, you can also get the store-bought dashi power or dashi packet to prepare the stock.
Mirin is a Japanese sweet wine that is a common seasoning in Japanese cuisine. You can certainly find it at any Japanese groceries stores. Some Asian stores such as Ranch 99 will carry mirin, too. If you can’t find mirin at your local groceries stores, check online stores like Amazon.